Pumpkin soup

So I mentioned a while ago about buying a pumpkin and attempting to finish it by myself. As part of my quest to finish it, I made pumpkin soup. The first time I tried pumpkin soup, I absolutely detested the taste of it. It was too sweet and completely goes against the concept of soup I was familiar with. I am more a savoury than sweet person. So when I found this recipe, I made a few minor tweaks to it to cater to my taste. But feel free to stick to the original recipe if you prefer a sweeter soup.

Adapted from recipe by A Spicy Perspective

INGREDIENTS
1/2 cup pumpkin flesh
7.5 ounce cannellini beans
2 cups chicken stock
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp cumin
2 tsp dried oregano
1 white onion ( peeled and diced )
1 tbsp olive oil
1 green chilli ( deseeded and chopped )
4 cloves garlic ( minced )
Salt & black pepper
Shredded cheese ( any type )

INSTRUCTIONS

1) In a heated pot, add the olive oil, garlic and onion. Stir till the onion is softened before adding in the green chilli. After stirring for about two minutes , add in the cumin , oregano , salt and pepper.

2) Add the chicken stock , pumpkin and beans to the pot. Bring to boil and allow it to simmer uncovered for around 20 minutes. Turn off the fire after twenty minutes and stir in the red wine vinegar .

C360_2014-09-21-13-16-18-244

3) Allow the soup to cool for about ten minutes before transferring to a blender. Blend till smooth. Pour the soup back into the pot.

4) Bring the soup to boil and add in the shredded cheese.

Leave a Reply

