Simple tomato pasta

So we were at the supermarket and my sister told me she was craving for tomato-based pasta. Naturally I volunteered myself for the job which she readily accepted. So while I was being indecisive about what to include in the pasta, she asked me which pasta sauce to get. I was in shock and horror of her audacity to insult me and ask me that. Then again, maybe not everyone is as obsessed about doing every little thing themselves as I am. So this is dedicated to her. To my dear sister who almost got yelled at a supermarket. I apologise for the drama but SERIOUSLY?! This is a really simple and basic sauce to guide those who are new to sauce making. Feel free to improvise and make it your own secret recipe. 

 

INGREDIENTS

6 tomatoes
4 cloves garlic
1 carrot ( peeled and cubed )
1 zucchini ( peeled and cubed )
1 cup sliced white mushrooms
Handful whole wheat pasta ( cooked )
Dried basil
Dried thyme
Dried sage
Dried oregano
One tablespoon greek yogurt
One tablespoon brown sugar
Olive oil
Salt & pepper

 

INSTRUCTIONS

1) Halve the tomatoes and place them on a baking tray. Sprinkle the the tomatoes with sea salt, pepper and olive oil. Crush the garlic and add it to to the baking tray. Bake the tomatoes at 170 degrees for 40 minutes.

2) Allow the tomatoes to cool a little. Transfer the tomatoes and garlic into a food processor and blend it into a thick sauce.

3) Transfer the sauce into a pot. Add the herbs into the sauce and allow it to simmer to 20 minutes. Add the herbs in whichever quantity you fancy, I highly recommend experimenting with the proportions to create your own special sauce.

3) In a heated pan, add some olive oil, carrot and zucchini. Fry it for about a minute before adding in the mushrooms. Stir fry at medium low heat till the mushroom starts to sweat. Turn up the fire and cook till the liquid from the mushrooms has evaporated.

4) Pour the cooked sauce into the pan and allow it to simmer for five minutes. Stir in the greek yogurt upon completion.

Leave a Reply

