Homemade apple butter

I wrote a post about making chia pudding with apple butter without realising that I forgot to do a post about the butter. So here it is ! The most amazing and healthy butter ever! Apple butter is basically a thick apple sauce which can be used as a healthy substitute for butter in some recipes. Most recipes available needs at least a couple of hours to make it and I was really reluctant to do it considering the small batch I was planning to make. But I remembered how my grandma used to boil apples to make special juice and that inspired my apple butter. With help from Google and a fantastic food blog, I managed to create my own apple butter. This recipe only takes about half an hour from start till end.

Adapted from recipe by Chefinyou

INGREDIENTS

4 red apples
2 tsp cinnamon powder
3 tbsp cup brown sugar
3 tbsp apple juice (fresh)
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp lemon juice

INSTRUCTIONS

1) Peel the apples, remove the core and dice it .

C360_2014-08-17-00-23-52-921

2) Add all ingredients including the diced apples into a pot and heat it till boil. Adjust the heat to low after the juice has boiled. Cover and allow it to simmer for about 20 minutes or till the the apples turns soft. Give it a stir occasional while cooking. 

3) Transfer the apples into a blender and blend away till smooth.

 

Leave a Reply

