Quinoa chowder

It’s been a great week at work for me. I got recognised for my work and had sufficient things to keep me occupied. But I still feel a little empty inside.Especially with the recent string of aviation accidents and a family death. I feel much more about the vulnerability of life and how every moment counts. It is so weird how one minute you might be with someone yet they are gone the next. Recovering from the death of a loved one is never easy. Every time I pass her area , my mind drift towards her unknowingly. My grandma was almost immortal to me that her death never felt real. So cooking is now a time for me to heal and take my thoughts away from everything else. And I decided to make soup because soup always calms my soul.

Modified from recipe by pickyeaterblog

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup white quinoa, rinsed and drained  
1/2 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 cup fresh corn kernels
1/2 cup frozen green peas
2 small shallots, chopped
2 cups broth ( chicken or vegetable )
1 cup unsweetened soymilk
Lemon wedges
1/4 tsp cumin powder
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
1/4 tsp black pepper

INSTRUCTIONS

1) Heat the oil in a pot and add in the corn, green peas and shallots. Sauté till the shallots are translucent

2) Add broth and soymilk to the pot and bring to a boil. Stir in the quinoa and all spices . Reduce the heat to medium-low, simmer 10 minutes.

3) Ladle the soup into bowls, and garnish with lemon wedges (squeeze a little bit lemon juice before eating and it really gives it an extra kick).

Leave a Reply

