Healthy Tandoori Chicken

I have always thought that Indian food was hard to recreate given the amount of spices required. So even though I love Indian food , I have never attempted to cook it. Perhaps its the unfamiliarity with the spices that made me fear failure. However, my recent trip to Little India along Serangoon Road made me change my perspective. Was it the people or was it the fresh good ingredients I saw ? Frankly, I do not recall much of it. But all I know is that I was determined to try cooking Indian food . So for my first attempt, I decided to make Tandoori Chicken paired with some pre-made Dhal and chickpeas in sauce. It was glorious. So my advice is to venture into the unknown and you might just realise something new about yourself.

 

INGREDIENTS

2 tablespoons grated onions
1 tablespoon grated ginger
1 teaspoon olive oil
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon red chilli flakes
1/4 teaspoon tumeric
2 garlic cloves , finely minced
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 large chicken breast

INSTRUCTIONS

1) Mix all items except the chicken breast together in a ziplock bag

2) Place the chicken breast in the bag and ensure that it is fully coated

3) Leave it in the fridge overnight

4) Bake the chicken breast in the oven for 23 minutes at 170 degrees

5) Enjoy it with steamed white rice

Leave a Reply

