Veggie Chilli

There is a long history between me and chilli. It goes way back to a couple of years ago when I was in the USA on work & travel. Those cold winter days helped create a special bond between me and my spicy friend. The thought of that warm chilli trickling down my throat and warming up my frozen belly still makes me smile. So when I chanced upon this recipe a few days, I knew I had to make it. It was calling out to me. Or at least my belly was calling out to its old friend. 

Adapted from recipe by Jamie Oliver

INGREDIENTS

2 medium-sized sweet potatoes
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon cinnamon powder
1 teaspoon grounded cumin 
2 teaspoon of EVOO
1 white onion
1 red bell pepper
1 yellow bell pepper
2 cloves of garlic
2-3 stalks of fresh coriander
1 red chilli
1 green chilli
2 cans of whole peeled tomatoes ( chopped )
1 cup of chickpeas 
Salt & pepper

 

INSTRUCTIONS

1) Using a peeler, peel the sweet potatoes and cut into bite-sized pieces. Sprinkle with cayenne, cumin, cinnamon, salt and pepper. Add in the olive oil and toss to coat before baking it in a preheated oven at 170 degrees for 40 minutes.

2) Chop the onion and peppers roughly. Peel and chop the garlic into fine pieces.

3) Finely chop the coriander. Deseed and finely chop the chillies. 

4) Heat up a large pot before adding a splash of EVOO. Add the onion, peppers and garlic and cook for 5 minutes. 

5) Add in the coriander, chilli and spices. Cook for another 5 to 10 minutes

6) Stir in the chickpeas and canned tomatoes. Let it boil before turning the heat down and let it simmer for 25 – 30 minutes. If it gets too thick, add in a splash of water. I added a little sugar into my chilli at this stage to counter the acidity of the tomatoes.

7) Stir the roasted sweet potato into your chilli. 

 

Leave a Reply

