Cauliflower pizza crust

As a kid, I always looked forward to the occasional pizza treats. Not because pizza is really pricey but my mum was really concerned about how unhealthy it was. So as I embarked on my journey towards healthy eating , I decided that nothing shall between me and my pizza. And I am excited to share this great news with everyone ! PIZZA CAN BE HEALTHY ! This pizza crust is made entirely from cauliflower flower and with zero trace of flour. It works perfectly for those who are allergic to gluten. I modified the original recipe and made a thin crust pizza. I absolutely adore thin crust pizza and it brings back memories of my Italy travels. Those warm thin crust pizza during the cold winter nights.

Adapted from recipe by Detoxinista

INGREDIENTS ( pizza crust )

4 cups raw cauliflower rice
1 egg, beaten
1/3 cup parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon dried basil

INSTRUCTIONS

1) Using a food processor, pulse the cauliflower until a rice-like texture is achieved

2) Boil a large pot of water and add the cauliflower rice to the pot. Let it boil for about 4-5 minutes before using a fine mesh-strainer to strain out the cooked “rice”.

3) Place the “rice”on a clean cheese cloth and squeeze it. Given that it will be hot , do run it under cold water for a few seconds before squeezing. Ensure that the “rice” is squeezed till dry.

4) Pour the “rice” and all other ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Mix well.

5) Press out the dough on a lined baking tray. I flattened my dough till it was thin like an omelette however the thickness depends on individual preference. Bake the crust in a pre-heated oven at 170 degrees for 30 minutes.

6) Your pizza crust is now completed ! I loaded my pizza with baby spinach, bell pepper and mushrooms. But feel free to experiment with any toppings ! Was hoping to try a sweet version with nutella and banana. Will tell you how it goes as soon as I try it.

7) After adding your toppings, pop it back into the oven for another ten minutes. Just ten more minutes and you will be with a healthy and tasty pizza!

Do make a few more and store it in the freezer. Then just pop it into the oven for a few minutes when needed. This is also a perfect way to get kids to eat their vegetables.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

