Homemade granola bars

I have always enjoyed eating granola bars till I read the back of the box. It was a mind-blowing moment. I never knew that I was consuming that much sugar and fats from that tiny bar. That little innocent looking bar which I thought was healthy. But nothing is going to stand between me and my granola bars after this awesome recipe! In fact, I had to take a picture of it soon after making before I devoured all of it.

Modified from recipe by Half Baked harvest

INGREDIENTS

2 cups rolled oats ( do toast if for about 15 minutes for a nice crunchy texture )
1 1/2 cup rice krispies
1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
1/4 cup whole roasted almonds, roughly chopped
1 tablespoon chia seeds
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/2 cup honey
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla essence
1 cup of toasted melon seeds
 
INSTRUCTIONS
 
1) Measure all dry ingredients and mix it up in a large bowl
2) Using a water bath, heat up the peanut butter and honey mixture. When the mixture becomes more liquid, add in the vanilla essence. Stir till combined and when the mixture feels liquid enough to be mixed.
3) Pour in the liquid mixture to the dry ingredients and mix well
4) Line a baking tray with baking paper and spread the wet granola mixture. Using the back of a spoon, press in the granola mixture to ensure that it is compact.
5) Freeze it for about an hour before placing it in the oven at 150 degrees for about 30 minutes.
6) VIOLA! You have succeeded in making your own granola bars ! Say goodbye to store-bought bars because these are so so good .
 
The original recipe called for a yogurt coating however I felt that the granola bar was sweet without the coating. I actually did the yogurt coating this time but the next time I will not. But for those with a sweet tooth, do try the amazing yogurt coating in the linked recipe.
Leave a Reply

